(Editor’s note: The list of counties below with a Chair in place is only valid as of this posting. Chairs are being added daily. If your county is not listed, or if you are interested in serving in this capacity in any county, including those already listed, please contact Susan Witcher, Volunteers Director for Newt 2012 Team Tennessee for the updated list or to be considered. Additionally, if you are interested in helping the campaign in another capacity, contact Ms. Witcher as well. Her email is TN4NewtVolunteers@Gmail.com. You can sign up for Team Tennessee email updates here.)

Newt 2012 Announces Tennessee Leadership Team

January 14th, 2012

Atlanta, GA – Newt 2012 today announced its Tennessee leadership team as it heads toward the March 6 Super Tuesday Presidential Primary and the key role Tennessee will play in selecting a Republican nominee for President of the United States.

The statewide coordinators for Newt 2012 are state Rep. Tony Shipley (TN-02), state director and campaign co-chairman; and state Sen. Stacey Campfield (TN-07), deputy state director and campaign co-chairman.

Members of the executive committee of Newt 2012 in Tennessee are:

Susan Witcher, Volunteer Coordinator and Past President of the Tennessee Federation of Republican Women
Chris Gallaher, Deputy Volunteer Coordinator
Ken Marrero, Communications Director
Mark Winslow – Political Director, Former Chief of Staff, Tennessee Republican Party
Bob Schwartz, Executive Director, Platform Committee Member, 2008 Republican National Convention
Newt 2012 in Tennessee also announces its Congressional District chairs for many of its Congressional Districts. They are:

Sullivan County Commissioner John Gardner, District 1
John Stanbery, DDS, District 3
John Gentile, District 4
Tony Roberts, District 5
State Rep. Terri Lynn Weaver (TN-40), District 6
Tim Skow, District 7
Mike Peery, District 8
Willis Ayres, District 9

Newt 2012 also is proud to announce county chairs in the following counties in Tennessee:

Bedford County – Barbara Blanton
Cheatham County – Sharon and Ken Blank
Clay County – Monica Davis
Cumberland County – Annette Sapp
Davidson County – Chad Jackson
Hamilton County – Andy Jungels and Valerie Morris
Hickman County – Bill Dockery
Johnson County – Former Mayor Kevin Parsons
Loudon County – Monta Hirzel
Macon County – Jon A. Wells
Madison County – Mike Peery
Maury County – Lyle Worsham
Monroe County – Linda Hall
Overton County – John Houser
Robertson County – Donna Fike
Rutherford County – Jane Davis
Shelby County – Willis Ayres
Smith County – State Rep. Terri Lynn Weaver (TN-40)
Sullivan County – Commissioner Matt Johnson
Sumner County – Alane Anno and Arlene Cunningham
Unicoi County – Bill Gaines
Washington County – Kim Dahlgren
Williamson County – Gary Mann and Tim Skow
Gibson County – Susan Taylor
Franklin County – Dennis (Denny) Basmajian

“Tennessee has an amazing team, and it is clear we have a strong ground game by the way this team has continued to grow and get Newt delegates on the ballot,” said Maria Strollo Zack, Southeastern political director for Newt 2012. “We are working hard to make sure Newt is our nominee when we get to the convention in Tampa this summer.”


R.C. Hammond
Press Secretary